Part 1 — Factual Analysis
Economic Comparison: 1990 and 2025
Kalmar Nation in Lund is one of the oldest student nations at Lund University. The following presents a comparison of the nation's finances and operations based on the annual accounts for 1990 and the income statement and balance sheet for 2025. The 35 years between these two points span a period of major social change – including digitalisation, Sweden's entry into the EU, inflation developments, and shifts in the student population.
All amounts are in nominal Swedish kronor (SEK) unless otherwise stated. An inflation factor of approximately 2.3 is applied to convert 1990 values to 2025 price levels (Statistics Sweden, 2025). This means that SEK 1 in 1990 corresponds to approximately SEK 2.30 in 2025.
Revenue trends
The nation's total revenue has grown from just under SEK 186,400 in 1990 to just over SEK 4,289,900 in 2025 – a nominal increase of approximately 2,200 percent. In real terms (applying the inflation factor of 2.3), this represents a real increase of approximately 900 percent. The strong growth is primarily explained by three factors: expansion of bar and food operations, an increase and diversification of revenue streams, and an adjusted term fee level.
| Revenue item | 1990 (SEK) | 2025 (SEK) | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Term fees | 66,033 | 556,092 | +743% |
| Pub / bar (beer, cider, wine, spirits, draught) | ~80,015 | ~1,988,598 | +2,385% |
| Food sales | — ¹ | 934,975 | New item |
| Entry fees / activity tickets | — ¹ | 354,959 | New / separated item |
| Support section / Nation support donations | 3,205 | 134,405 | +4,093% |
| Formal dinner committee (Sexmästeri) | 2,919 | — ² | Included elsewhere |
| Financial income (endowments / dividends) | 99,512 ³ | 578,936 | +482% |
| TOTAL REVENUE (incl. financial income) | 285,870 | 4,868,788 | +1,603% |
¹ Food sales and separate entry fee income were likely recorded in 1990 as part of “Pub Kaggen” or “Other income” and cannot be identified separately in the older accounts format.
² The formal dinner committee's revenue may be included in general operating income in 2025 without a separate line.
³ Endowment contributions in the 1990 accounts are recorded as “income” to cover the operating deficit – not operating revenue in the strict sense.
Revenue structure – where did the money come from?
The revenue structure has changed dramatically. In 1990, term fees (35%) and pub/membership cards (43%) accounted for the great majority of operating revenue. Financial returns from the endowment funds were absolutely essential – without the endowment contribution of SEK 99,512 the deficit would have been unmanageable.
In 2025, bar and food sales completely dominate the revenue side. Beer Tap alone generates SEK 976,358 – more than the nation's entire total revenue in 1990. Financial income (SEK 578,936) is now a welcome supplement rather than an economic lifeline.
Cost trends
Costs have followed revenues upward, but with a different composition. The most important structural change is the emergence of genuine staff costs (employees on salary) and a sharp increase in rental costs, reflecting the fact that the nation now operates a more complex property and service operation.
| Cost item | 1990 (SEK) | 2025 (SEK) | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Staff costs (salary / study grants) | 69,099 | 843,056 | +1,120% |
| Rent (premises and office rent) | 28,815 | 330,816 ⁴ | +1,048% |
| Goods purchases (food, drink, etc.) | — ⁵ | 2,213,719 | Included in other costs 1990 |
| Transport and vehicles | — ⁵ | 95,275 | New / separated item |
| Representation | 18,461 | 64,453 | +249% |
| Nation gazette / printed material (Calmare Nyckel) | 27,627 | 7,332 | −73% |
| Total administrative costs | 145,242 | 1,163,899 | +699% |
| TOTAL COSTS | 298,844 | 4,227,585 | +1,314% |
⁴ Includes Rent SEK 246,597 + Other rented spaces SEK 84,219.
⁵ Goods purchases and transport costs are likely included in “Other costs” in the 1990 accounts and cannot be separated.
Staff costs – from study grants to salaries
One of the most important structural changes concerns how the nation compensates its staff. In 1990, the dominant staff cost was study grants – a contribution to the nation's officers (senior officials, PQe – Treasurer) of SEK 300 per semester, plus grants to the treasurer and others. The total cost amounted to SEK 69,099.
In 2025, the nation's staff costs are SEK 843,056, of which SEK 550,280 relates to salaries for white-collar employees, SEK 187,417 represents Food Ticket use, and SEK 64,453 is representation. This change reflects a professionalisation: the nation today employs salaried staff at market rates rather than relying solely on volunteer officers receiving token study grants.
Operations and sections – what remains and what disappeared?
The nation's operational structure has changed markedly. In 1990, the nation had a rich ecosystem of sections with their own budgets and cost lines. In 2025, operations are reported in a more consolidated structure, but with a significantly more complex bar and food management.
| Activity / section | Status 1990 | Status 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Pub Kaggen / bar | Active – SEK 34,781 revenue | Active and strongly expanded – ~SEK 2m in drinks revenue |
| Food operations | Not separately reported | Active – SEK 934,975 revenue |
| Calmare Nyckel (nation gazette) | Active – cost SEK 27,627, 4 issues/year | Printed material SEK 7,332 (minimal) |
| Radio section | Active – SEK 5,603, 1 hour/week on air | Not separately reported (likely discontinued) |
| Film section | Active – SEK 7,881 | Not separately reported |
| Photo section | Active – SEK 6,380 | Not separately reported |
| Sports section | Active – SEK 13,735 (incl. fencing, tandem relay) | Sports fund SEK 74,649 in balance sheet |
| Academic/social activities (Natu) | Active – SEK 15,697 | Included in general operations |
| Formal dinner committee (Sexmästeri) | Active – SEK 2,919 revenue | Likely active but not separately reported |
| Membership card / Guest card (Gudrunkortet) | SEK 45,234 revenue (membership card) | SEK 17,200 (Guest card) |
Funds and capital – from lifeline to wealth
The role of the endowment funds has changed fundamentally over 35 years. In 1990, the function of fund contributions was to fill the gap that arose when operating revenue was insufficient to cover costs. The operating deficit amounted to SEK 112,486; the funds contributed SEK 99,512 to keep the nation afloat. Without endowment returns, the nation would have run a deficit of nearly SEK 113,000 – 61 percent of total operating revenue.
In 2025, the situation is radically different. Financial investments amount to SEK 9,297,220 (of which foundation securities SEK 8,845,884 and other investments SEK 451,336). Returns contribute SEK 799,224 in financial income (incl. realised securities gains of SEK 220,288 on acct 8220, corrected 2026-04-27), but against that stand financial costs of SEK 195,193 – a net contribution from financial items of SEK 604,031. The operating result is now positive (+SEK 25,303); adding net financial items (+SEK 604,031) gives a result per the income statement of +SEK 629,334. In addition, inventory changes net +SEK 15,929 (accounts 4901–4909 and 7741–7749, outside K1 format) bring the final confirmed net result to +SEK 645,263. The nation is no longer dependent on the funds for its day-to-day survival – endowment returns are a welcome buffer and enable scholarships and nation support grants.
| Item | 1990 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Operating result (before financial items) | −SEK 112,486 | +SEK 25,303 |
| Financial income (endowment contributions / dividends) | SEK 99,512 | SEK 799,224 |
| Financial costs | — | −SEK 195,193 |
| Result per income statement (before inventory changes) | −SEK 12,973 | +SEK 629,334 |
| Inventory changes net (accts 4901–4909 and 7741–7749) | — | +SEK 15,929 |
| Net result for the year (balance sheet calculation) | −SEK 12,973 | +SEK 645,263 * |
| Financial investments (balance sheet) | SEK 1,797,561 (market value) of which equity portfolio SEK 1,328,364 (market value), SEB bond fund SEK 352,657 (market value) ⁶, bank deposits SEK 116,540 Incl. building renovation receivable: SEK 1,922,176 |
SEK 9,297,220 of which securities SEK 8,845,884, other investments SEK 451,336 |
| Fund returns as share of total revenue | ~53% (essential lifeline) | ~13% (welcome supplement) |
⁶ SEB Bond Fund: the bond fund's nominal value as at 1990-12-31 was SEK 398,741 (367 units × SEK 1,086.49/unit), but the market value was SEK 352,657. The total of SEK 1,797,561 is calculated throughout on market values (116,540 + 1,328,364 + 352,657 = 1,797,561). The building renovation receivable of SEK 124,615 is reported separately in the accounts and is not included in this row, but in the total of SEK 1,922,176.
* SEK 645,263 = final confirmed net result for 2025, after (1) reversal of journal entry Y2 (acct 8999, SEK 881,658 – erroneous circular booking, reversed 2026-04-13), (2) write-down of trade receivable SEK 10,000 (acct 6351, 2026-04-22), and (3) correction of securities sales (journal entries B580–591, acct 8220 net SEK 220,288, 2026-04-27). The income statement shows SEK 629,334; difference SEK 15,929 = net inventory effect (accounts 4901–4909 and 7741–7749, not visible in K1-formatted income statement). Original report 2026-03-26 showed SEK 505,780. See index_eng.html for full analysis.
Lower of cost or market principle – how fund assets are valued in 1990 and 2025
A fundamental question in reporting financial investments is at which value they should be carried: historical cost, nominal value, or market value? In Sweden, this is governed by the lower of cost or market principle (LCM) – a direct expression of the broader prudence principle. The principle means that unrealised losses must be recognised immediately (write-down), while unrealised gains may not be recognised until they are actually realised.
The applicable framework for Kalmar Nation is BFNAR 2017:3 (K2-based annual accounts), whose valuation rules for financial fixed assets (chapter 11) are based on the prudence principle codified in the Swedish Annual Accounts Act (ARL) chapter 2, section 4. In brief: financial fixed assets are valued at cost less accumulated write-downs. Write-down is required if value has permanently fallen below book value; reversal of write-down is permitted but never to an amount exceeding the original cost (BFNAR 2017:3, chap. 11, para. 11.8–11.10). For the financial year 1990, the applicable standard was instead the Swedish Accounting Act 1976 (BFL 1976:125), whose sections 14–17 governed the valuation of current and fixed assets – with the same fundamental LCM logic.
| Valuation point | 1990 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Book value – financial investments | SEK 1,797,561 (market value; cost unknown) |
SEK 9,297,220 (cost after write-downs) |
| Market value (portfolio) | SEK 1,797,561 (same as book – reported at market value) |
SEK 12,536,278 (SEB annual securities statement 2025-12-31) |
| Unrealised gain / loss | Bond fund: nom. SEK 398,741 → market SEK 352,657 = −SEK 46,084 (LCM applied) ✓ Equity portfolio: cost unknown ⁷ |
+SEK 3,239,058 (hidden reserve – not recognised) |
| LCM action required / taken? | Bond fund: write-down applied (market value < nominal value) Equity portfolio: not determinable without cost basis |
No – market value exceeds book value. Write-up is not permitted under BFNAR 2017:3. |
⁷ For the equity portfolio in 1990, the market value (SEK 1,328,364) is reported, which exceeds the nominal share value (par value, SEK 653,829). However, nominal share value is not the same as cost (the price the nation actually paid for the shares). Without knowledge of the cost basis it cannot be determined whether LCM was correctly applied to the equity portfolio – if the cost was lower than market value, the accounts should have remained at cost. Reporting at market value was, however, a common and accepted practice for association endowments under the 1990s accounting regime.
Hidden reserve 2025 and 2024 write-downs
In 2025 there is a hidden reserve of approximately SEK 3,239,058 – the difference between market value (SEK 12,536,278) and book value (SEK 9,297,220). The amount exists in reality but is not visible in the balance sheet. It is a direct consequence of LCM: the nation does not recognise a gain it has not yet realised.
The background to the relatively low book value is that the nation in 2024 carried out significant write-downs: −SEK 3,085,987 on foundation securities (account 8275) and −SEK 243,719 on other financial investments (account 8270) – a combined total of approximately −SEK 3,330,000. This indicates that market value during 2024 permanently fell below book value, making write-down a requirement under BFNAR 2017:3. The fact that the market recovered in 2025 and that market value now exceeds the written-down book value does not automatically trigger a write-back in the 2025 accounts – such a decision requires careful analysis of whether the recovery is permanent, and is not the subject of a recommendation in this comparison.
Estimated value development 1990–2025 – had the nation lived solely on returns
A natural question is: if Kalmar Nation had invested the 1990 endowment capital and thereafter lived solely on returns (dividends and interest) without drawing on the capital – how large would the fund value have become by 2025? The calculation below is a hypothetical estimate. It should be read as an order of magnitude, not as an exact answer.
Since the nation reasonably consumes dividends and interest income but not the capital, it is appropriate to use price return excluding dividends as the growth factor for the equity portfolio's capital value. The source for price return is OMXSPI (OMX Stockholm Price Index) – a pure price index that does not include reinvested dividends. Base index = 100 as of 1995-12-31; the index value as of December 2025 was approximately 1,030, giving an average price return of approximately 8.1% per year for the period 1995–2025 (30 years).
For the period 1990–1995 (5 years), conditions were more difficult: the banking crisis of 1991–1993 and the currency crisis of autumn 1992 pushed market levels sharply lower. Conservative estimate for 1990–1995: 0% per year in price return. This gives a combined estimate of approximately 6–7% per year for the full period 1990–2025. This analysis uses 6% as a conservative estimate of price return.
Calculation A – price return excl. dividends (6% for equities)
| Asset class | Market value 1990 | Price return / year | Calculated value 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equity portfolio (Handelsbanken) | SEK 1,328,364 | 6% / year × 35 years (factor 7.7×) |
~SEK 10,210,000 |
| SEB Bond Fund | SEK 352,657 | 5% / year × 35 years (factor 5.5×) |
~SEK 1,945,000 |
| Bank deposits | SEK 116,540 | 2.5% / year × 35 years (factor 2.4×) |
~SEK 277,000 |
| TOTAL – hypothetical 2025 value (price return) | SEK 1,797,561 | — | ~SEK 12,432,000 |
| Actual market value 2025 (SEB portfolio) | — | — | SEK 12,536,278 |
| Difference (hypothetical minus actual) | — | — | +SEK 104,000 (actual ≈ 101% of hypothetical – capital is preserved) |
Calculation B – total return incl. dividends (9% for equities) – shown for comparison
| Asset class | Market value 1990 | Total return / year | Calculated value 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equity portfolio (Handelsbanken) | SEK 1,328,364 | 9% / year × 35 years (factor 20.4×) |
~SEK 27,099,000 |
| SEB Bond Fund | SEK 352,657 | 5% / year × 35 years (factor 5.5×) |
~SEK 1,940,000 |
| Bank deposits | SEK 116,540 | 2.5% / year × 35 years (factor 2.4×) |
~SEK 280,000 |
| TOTAL – hypothetical 2025 value (total return) | SEK 1,797,561 | — | ~SEK 29,319,000 |
| Actual market value 2025 (SEB portfolio) | — | — | SEK 12,536,278 |
| Difference (hypothetical minus actual) | — | — | −SEK 16,783,000 (actual = approx. 43% of hypothetical) |
The two calculations give dramatically different pictures – and both are correct, depending on what is being asked:
Calculation A (6%, price return): The actual market value in 2025 (SEK 12.5m) is almost exactly equal to the hypothetical price-index-adjusted value (SEK 12.4m). This suggests that Kalmar Nation has, to a large extent, preserved its endowment capital in real price terms – and that it has actually lived on returns (dividends) rather than drawing on the capital. This is a remarkable and positive result for an organisation that had a structural operating deficit during the first half of the 1990s.
Calculation B (9%, total return): If instead compared with a fully reinvested total return (i.e. if dividends had also been reinvested in the fund), the actual value amounts to 43% of the hypothetical. The difference of approximately SEK 16.8m then represents the dividends and returns that the nation has consumed over 35 years – on average approximately SEK 480,000 per year. This is reasonable: it aligns well with financial income in 2025 amounting to SEK 578,000.
1990: The lower of cost or market principle was applied to the bond fund (market value < nominal value). For the equity portfolio, market value was reported; cost basis is unknown. The applicable standard was the Swedish Accounting Act 1976 (BFL 1976:125).
2025: Book value (SEK 9.1m) is below market value (SEK 12.5m) by approximately SEK 3.5m – a hidden reserve not visible in the balance sheet. LCM requires no action when market exceeds book value. The applicable standard is BFNAR 2017:3, chap. 11, grounded in the prudence principle (ARL chap. 2, sect. 4).
Capital development 1990–2025 – two methods:
Calculation A (price return excl. dividends, approx. 6%/year): The theoretical 2025 value amounts to approximately SEK 12,432,000 – almost exactly equal to the actual market value of SEK 12,536,278. The difference is only +SEK 104,000 (+0.8%). The conclusion is remarkable: the nation has in all material respects preserved its founding capital in real terms and lived on dividends and returns – precisely as a well-managed endowment fund should. This is a strong management result over 35 years.
Calculation B (total return incl. dividends, approx. 9%/year): The theoretical maximum value amounts to approximately SEK 29,319,000. The actual market value (SEK 12.5m) represents approximately 43% of this – which quantifies the accumulated withdrawal of dividends: on average approximately SEK 480,000/year, in line with the 2025 financial income of SEK 578,000.
Sources
Kalmar Nation (1991) Annual Accounts 1990 – Financial Management Report. Lund: Kalmar Nation. Signed KL, PQe (Treasurer), 18 January 1991. [Internal document.] 📄 Source document (PDF)
Kalmar Nation (2026) Income Statement ARL 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31. Lund: Kalmar Nation / Visma eEkonomi. Printed 2026-03-26 and 2026-04-08 (final, after reversal of journal entry Y2). [Internal audit document.]
Kalmar Nation (2026) Balance Sheet ARL 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31. Lund: Kalmar Nation / Visma eEkonomi. Printed 2026-03-26 and 2026-04-08 (final, after reversal of journal entry Y2). [Internal audit document.]
Statistics Sweden (2025) Consumer Price Index (KPI) – historical data 1980–2025. Stockholm: Statistics Sweden (SCB). Available: https://www.scb.se (Accessed: 2026-04-04). Note: The inflation factor of approx. 2.3 reflects CPI development from 1990 to 2025.
Swedish Accounting Standards Board (BFN) (n.d.) Non-profit organisations – accounting and bookkeeping rules. Stockholm: BFN. Available: https://www.bfn.se (Accessed: 2026-04-04).
Swedish Accounting Standards Board (BFN) (2017) BFNAR 2017:3 Annual Accounts. Stockholm: Swedish Accounting Standards Board. Available: https://www.bfn.se/wp-content/uploads/vl17-3-ab-kons.pdf (Accessed: 2026-04-06). Note: Chapter 11 governs the valuation of financial fixed assets (lower of cost or market principle, write-downs and reversals). Applicable framework for Kalmar Nation's K2-based annual accounts.
Swedish Parliament (1995) Annual Accounts Act (1995:1554). Stockholm: Swedish Parliament. Available: https://www.riksdagen.se (Accessed: 2026-04-06). Note: Chapter 2, section 4 codifies the prudence principle on which BFNAR 2017:3 is based. The Annual Accounts Act applies directly only to organisations required to prepare a formal annual report – Kalmar Nation is not subject to this requirement.
Swedish Parliament (1976) Accounting Act (1976:125). Stockholm: Swedish Parliament. [Repealed by Accounting Act 1999:1078.] Note: Applicable law for the financial year 1990. Sections 14–17 governed the valuation of current and fixed assets, including the lower of cost or market principle for securities.
SEB (2026) Annual Securities Statement – Kalmar Nation, 2025-12-31. Stockholm: SEB. [Internal document, received 2026-03-26.] Note: Total market value of the portfolio: SEK 12,536,278. Used as the basis for comparison with book value (SEK 9,297,220) and calculation of the hidden reserve.
Nasdaq OMX (2025) OMX Stockholm PI – OMXSPI Index Overview. Stockholm: Nasdaq OMX. Available: https://indexes.nasdaqomx.com/index/overview/omxspi (Accessed: 2026-04-06). Note: OMXSPI is a pure price index that does not include reinvested dividends. Base index 100 as of 1995-12-31; index value approx. 1,030 as of 2025-12-31, giving an average price return (excl. dividends) of approx. 8.1% per year over the period 1995–2025 (30 years). Used as reference for estimating the hypothetical value development of the equity portfolio 1990–2025.